Articles on: FAQ
This article is also available in:

Upgrade: More than one approver

absentify offers a multiple approver feature if your company requires its employees' leave requests to be processed by more than one superior.

Keep reading to learn more about the functionality of this add-on to see if it fits your needs!

Please note that this feature is only available in the business and enterprise plan. Interested? See our Plans and pricing to power up your plan and get the most out of what absentify has to offer!

Jump to:


Select a user's approver
Approval permissions per user
Select more than one approver
Request processing for superiors
Approval notifications

Select a user's approver



Without this add-on, you may only choose the department manager to be the user's approver, or use the custom option to select a different user as their approver.

If you're not sure how to select a user's approver, we recommend that you first check out this article, Selecting a user's approver which will walk you through the set-up process.

If you already have this add-on, keep reading!


Approval permissions per user



To first get a good understanding of the rights each user has when it comes to approving time off, check out the individual approval permissions below.

Admin

Can configure the approval settings for every employee within the company.
Can act as an approver for every employee.

Manager

Can create requests for employees in their department.
Can approve/deny leave requests for employees within their department.

Approver

Receives approval notifications from their requesters to either approve/deny leave requests
Can have multiple approvers who act according to the set approval rules (linear or parallel, all must agree or one must agree).
An employee can be assigned to themselves as an approver.

Requestor (regular user)

Has at least one approver.
The person making the request. This can be the employee themselves, an admin, or a manager.
Can be listed as an approver in the approval chain.


Let's get started



Select more than one approver


Now that you know how to change a user's approver, with the add-on you can select more than one approver by clicking Add Approver under the custom option.



First, select the other approver(s) from the drop down menu.



From here, you can also specify by how many members of management the request needs to be approved by and in what order they will receive the request.

Once you've selected two or more approvers for the user, you can then determine in which order the request should be sent to the appointed approvers by clicking the arrow for the drop-down menu under Approval process.



You'll be able to choose from the following four options:

1. Linear - All must agree


Approval process: Approvers are sent the request consecutively.
Action required: Each individual approver must agree in the determined order for the request to be approved.

If rejected: If an approver rejects, the request is immediately declined and the request will not be sent to the next approver in the sequence. All approvers who had previously approved the request, as well as the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) will receive a notification about the rejection including the reason given.

If approved: Only when all approvers have consented, will it be approved. All approvers, the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) will receive a notification.

2. Linear - One must agree


Approval process: Approvers are contacted consecutively.
Action required: At least one approver must agree in order for the request to be approved.

If rejected: If each of the approvers reject, the request is declined. After all approvers have made their decision, the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) will be notified that the request was rejected.

If approved: The request is immediately marked as approved as soon as at least one approver agrees. All approvers, the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) are notified of the approval.

3. Parallel - All must agree


Approval Process: All approvers are contacted at the same time.
Action required: Each individual approver must agree in order for the request to be approved.

If rejected: If at least one approver denies the request, the request is immediately marked as declined. All approvers, the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) will receive a notification, informing them of the rejection.

If approved: The request is approved only after all approvers have agreed. All approvers, the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) are notified of the approval.

4. Parallel - One must agree


Approvers are sent the request at the same time. One must agree in order for the request to be approved.
Approval Process: All approvers are contacted at the same time.
Action required: As soon as one approver agrees, the request is approved.

If rejected: If all approvers reject the request, it will be declined. Once determined that all approvers have declined the request, the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) will be notified.

If approved The approval process is concluded as soon as as least one approver agrees. All approvers, the requestor, and the creator (if different than the requestor) are informed.



Select the one that fits your needs and click Save to save your changes.

Please note that all appointed approvers can see the comments or reasons for declining a request from the other approver(s), including the date and time when the other approver(s) responded.

And that's it! Now your employees' leave requests will be reviewed by more than one superior.


Approvals



Request processing for superiors



Admins and managers have the ability to approve or deny leave requests even if they are not the designated approver. Admins can do this for any user within their company, while managers have the right to process requests for users within their department.

If an admin or manager acts on behalf of an actual approver, the actual approver receives a notification that the approval or rejection was made by that person.

Approval notifications



A general notification will be sent to the requestor at every status change of a requested leave type.

This means that the requestor will be notified of every approver's decision unless the decision results in an immediate overall status change of the request (i.e.: approval or rejection). In which case, the corresponding notification for the leave request will be sent to the user.


If you think this feature is right for you and your organization's leave approval process, see a breakdown of all our available plans here or get in touch with our support team to speak to us about an upgrade!


Related:



Selecting a user's approver
Upgrade: Shared Calendar Sync
Upgrade: Add more departments

Updated on: 04/04/2024

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!